Of Love, Truth and the Forbidden Fruit

The grass seems greener on the other side;
across the River I took my horse for a ride.
I don’t know why, but every time I fell.
And I drowned in the River to wake up in Hel.
“Oh Boatman! Boatman! Where are thee?
Here are two coins! Come ferry me!”

I relished the Tree’s Forbidden Fruit
knowing not that the Dragon gnawed at the root.
“Oh dear Love, I mistook lust for you.
Is nothing in this world ever true?”
In pursuit of Truth, to places I went.
Naive as I was, time and money I spent.

There is no such thing as ‘Truth’.
Love isn’t understood by the youth.
We pursue the Forbidden in vain
only to suffer immense pain.

But my dear friend, I complain not
for the Secret can never be forgot.
I have crossed the River at last.
And soon I shall be with my Love at last.

…with my Love at last

Leave a Reply

