My Queen

My queen! My elegant queen,

I’ve given thee almost all I had left.
Little more than a soldier I stand,
Without thee we are power bereft.

Two bishops taketh 3 soldiers each,
5 soldiers are garrisoned in each castle – east and west,
two knights lead 5 soldiers each,
And I’ve given thee all the rest!

Our army is at the battlefield.
But they cannot fight alone.
So I leave it to thee to guide them, my queen.
There is naught that I now own.

I shall never withdraw.
Not even if the enemies take the lead.
Even if our army is routed;
Or into the fort our enemies bleed!

For I have thee, my elegant queen!
Take with thee all the rest.
With thee on our side, I am assured
that we have the very best.

Leave a Reply

