You Knew

You knew something I knew not.
You said t’was vain what I sought.
All I wanted was to see you live longer.
All you wanted was to return to the Creator.

I had faith but you had more.
I wanted to heal you, but I was unsure.
You wanted me to realize
that the religion I served wouldn’t suffice.

I believed in miracles, that’s for sure.
You said this would require more.
Priests and altars wouldn’t do much good.
A priest is just a man and an altar just wood.

Whether faith heals or not, you would never lie.
Thus that day I helplessly watched you die.

—Pramodh Iyer, about.me/zardy about.me/tsoimagazine

Leave a Reply

